O Museum In The Mansion Reviews

Washington D.C.

Leave a review

* denotes required fields
Your Name *
Your Company
Your Email *
Event Date *
Event *
   
Rate Your Experience *




Please leave your comments






  _____   ____    _____   _____   _  _     _  _   
 | ____| | __ )  |  ___| |___  | | || |   | || |  
 |  _|   |  _ \  | |_       / /  | || |_  | || |_ 
 | |___  | |_) | |  _|     / /   |__   _| |__   _|
 |_____| |____/  |_|      /_/       |_|      |_|  
                                                  
Please type the letters and numbers you see into the field below:
   
 

2,518 Reviews


Previous 500   1   2   3   4   5   6   Next

Leigh Hamilton on Nov 30, 2009 said:

“Last Monday was a magical, enchanting day. I woke up knowing something special was going to happen. Since then I have been trying to describe my afternoon at The Mansion and the only other words I can come up with, which are not adequate, are warm and whimsical. Thank you for sharing your divine inspiration and showing us what was behind some of the hidden doors. Hope to return soon!”


Thomas W. Patterson on Nov 30, 2009 said:

“Just a quick note of thanks to commend you and your staff for doing such a stellar job. The sales kickoff dinner I hosted there on Tuesday was phenominal, due in no small part to your staff, who took care of every detail in such a gracious and accommodating manner.”


Alex Wightman on Nov 30, 2009 said:

“I wanted to thank you for your hospitality and generosity last evening. I have stayed in a lot of hotels in my time, but there's certainly no place else in the world like yours! It was a wonderful experience.”


Linda Baller on Nov 30, 2009 said:

“Incredible! What a gorgeous place!”


Michael & Rachel on Nov 30, 2009 said:

“We had a wonderful time staying in the John Lennon Suite New Years, and we wish you and the Mansion the very best for the year to come. Hope to see you all again soon!”


Paul & Mariana Williams on Nov 26, 2009 said:

“My fianc? Paul was scheduled to perform for an intimate gathering February 14th, celebrating the O Mansion's Silver Anniversary as well as the Benefit for The Clare Foundation. Paul Williams was a favorite of H. H. Leonards Spero, the hotel's founder and being one of the most romantic composers on record (that would be vinyl and compact disc), his music proved to be an excellent choice for the romantics in the city. My fianc? and I embarked on an adventure that began with pressing a red button on a concrete wall of a non-descript doorway. Feeling like Dorothy from Kansas, we found ourselves inside a magical world once the heavy door clanked shut. The interior of The Mansion has high ceilings and crystal chandeliers dangling sepia-toned light, casting the antiques, fine art and guests all in the same warm amber glow. After just minutes inside this mansion, you wonder if you can ever leave. The shimmering aesthetics draw you in, or is it they call you home? The comfort surrounds you like a velvet cloak and it's almost intoxicating. I've heard travelers describe the danger of stepping off a trail in a dense jungle; just two feet from the path one could get lost forever. That's the rich allure one feels standing just a few feet inside the door of this private luxury hotel of 22 rooms in the District of Columbia. The Nation's Capital, a-buzz with the concrete world of politics, for now has been placed on hold, as the real world is suspended. With few clocks or calendars, idealism reigns as music flows from room to room. The sensual atmosphere of beauty is set in motion by the founder of The Mansion, H. H. Leonards and her husband Ted Spero, whose eclectic taste is artfully displayed and heartfully expressed. Were wings promising a quiet protection shielding us from the noise of the city streets? Perhaps, since The Mansion is overflowing with angels pictured in ornate frames, replicated in marble and porcelain, or simply flying by on a painted wall. With just our minister Dr. Jim Turrell and his wife Patty flown in from California, we had a private ceremony in the Penthouse. As luck would have it (the word luck has been replaced by magical intervention), a beautiful picture of the Madonna hung on the wall behind us. The Greek artist, Alexandra Roussis, was the featured artist of the month, and her collection graced many of the walls in February; and described as "paintings that celebrate life and heal the soul." As we took our vows, candles flickered beside white roses as the song The Very Thought of You played in the background. It was an ideal romantic setting for the happiest day of our lives. Just as I started to get weepy, the beat turned around with the trumpet harmonies ofBeginnings by Chicago. The two songs book-ended emotions we were over-come with, at our tiny-gigantic wedding. Paul Williams' songs We've Only Just Begun, and Evergreen have set the backdrop for many couples on their wedding day. For us, at mid-life, we feel the same sentiments and rush of young love that those lyrics expressed. However, we needed to separate ourselves from those songs and that time. This year on Valentine's Day, for Paul and me, love was absolutely soft as an easy chair, and we are so thrilled that "we've only just begun!"”


Simona Flores on Nov 22, 2009 said:

“Words alone cannot describe my gratitude for the party and sharing your "home" with me. I have memories that will last a lifetime.”


Kristen C. on Nov 17, 2009 said:

“It's unanimous - our team had a wonderfully productive and fun retreat and cooking class last Friday. We'd like to send special thanks and recognition to Diana Diamond who took excellent care of us and enhanced every aspect of our cooking class.”


Marguerite on Aug 14, 2009 said:

“Our group had such a great time last week! Many have indicated they'd prefer to stay at the Mansion during future visits than the area hotels we have been using! And the food was a feast to the eyes as well as the tummy, yes many of us overate, but it was worth it. (People are still talking about the lobster pot pie and the seaweed salad!)”


Joel Korn & Susan Bandler on Jun 22, 2009 said:

“Jona's bat mitzvah celebration at The Mansion turned out to be a wonderful, memorable evening for our family. Our guests loved exploring the unique space and savoring the delicious food -- several also commented on the quality of the staff. We are appreciative for your responsiveness to our suggestions and to all of your attention to detail. Though we imagined it when we booked the party last fall, our experience confirmed what a unique and special place the Mansion is.”


Barbara and Geoffery on Jun 5, 2009 said:

“Many historical events have taken place at The Mansion, but to Geoffery and me, The Mansion is like no other place we have ever visited. It's like home. We believe that The Mansion is the only place to bring the most special people in our lives on our most special day. Thank you for a perfect wedding reception. You and your entire staff were wonderful. My guests can not stop talking about The Mansion, the food, and the staff. Geoff and I are so happy about everything. The International room was wonderful too. Geoff and I plan to return for our anniversary. The wedding cake was magnificent. Again, thank you for an extraordinary experience and I can hardly wait to see all of you again.”


Spiro Fokas on May 19, 2009 said:

“This was the most fun I've ever had in a hotel? and I was alone! I'll never stay anywhere else in DC. I can't wait to return.”


Archana on May 6, 2009 said:

“I attended your wonderful Cinco de Mayo event last night. Your place gorgeous, the dishes tasty and the staff wonderful. Please thank your staff for me - one was thoughtful to remember that I was a vegetarian and brought over the poppers when they were ready. (Thank you!)”


Joe on Apr 7, 2009 said:

“Thanks you so much, I absolutely love your property! More importantly, our most important clients raved about our dinner.”


Paul and Michele Nathanson on Dec 27, 2008 said:

“The Mansion was the perfect, unique venue for our daughter Rachel's Bat Mitzvah. Rachel and her friends had a wonderful time exploring the Mansion and dancing and playing games with the DJ. The adults were amazed not only by the d?cor of the Mansion, but by the fabulous food and desserts. The Mansion staff could not have been more accommodating and were great to work with throughout the planning process. Our immediate family stayed at the Mansion for the Bat Mitzvah and it was a weekend that we will all remember forever. I strongly recommend the Mansion to anyone who is looking for something different than a hotel or country club ball room for their child's Bar or Bat Mitzvah.”


Robert M. McGuire on Dec 16, 2008 said:

“Thank you for a most wonderful evening last night. I greatly apprecaite the service and accomodation that you gave the group. Your place came highly recommended and now I see why. I will definitely be bringing the group back for Sunday Brunch. Thank you for your hospitality. You have made all of our holidays a more memorable one.”


Kathlene & David Lowenstein on Apr 29, 2008 said:

“Your warmth, generosity & great-at-what-you-do-ness made for a relaxed & entirely enjoyable night! Jack may never come down from the high. You can count on his wedding in a decade or two.”


Pat on Apr 12, 2007 said:

“Jim was asked to serve on the Board of Directors for the Community Health Accreditation Program and he attended his first Board meeting on Tuesday. The organization was having a dinner on Wednesday night to honor and say farewell to both a long time Board member and a long time staffer. It was to be held at The Mansion on O Street formerly, The O Street Mansion and before that H.H. Leonards.... the very place we got married! When he told them that, they told him to bring me. Without telling me where it was, except for "some hotel" on O Street, he told me that I was invited and asked if I wanted to go. I said, sure, why not....I met him at his office at 5:45, we took a taxi over...I didn't exactly hear the address he gave the driver, but when the taxi turned the corner onto the street and asked what address we were looking for again, Jim said, 2020...and the dawn struck!! "Hey," I said, "isn't that where we got MARRIED!" "Why YES," he said, laughing his little trickster laugh. It was very nice and exciting. We hadn't been back at all since the wedding in 1983 and it was only one house then. Now it is five interconnecting houses and very interesting to explore. They had a fabulous bar and both of the young women make excellent and very large cosmos...I know because I had two! Then, after we were all seated but before we ate dinner, H. H. herself talked a little about the place and asked if there were any questions. I told her we had gotten married there almost 25 years ago! And she gave us a coupon for a complimentary champagne Sunday brunch for two....I think we'll use it on May 27, which is the Sunday before our anniverary on the 29th. And maybe we'll have a party back there for our 25th anniversary next year. It's certainly a beautiful and fun place and the food is fabulous!”

Previous 500   1   2   3   4   5   6   Next